Exercise: Managing Colour

For this exercise, you should find two or three images that have what you judge to be a significant colour cast. The main purpose of this exercise is to ‘Correct’ it. For most photography, all that is important is that the overall colour looks reasonable and expected.

Make sure that one image contains a surface that is ‘Known’ (That is expected) to be grey. For example, Concrete, Steel, Aluminium, Clouds and Shadows.

Use your preferred processing software. First, examine the image and make a judgement on the colour cast.

You can shoot in JPEG or RAW.

I used Light room 4 for this exercise. I used the same image in JPEG and RAW format. For these images, my camera’s white balance was set to auto

1: JPEG

Original Image:

IMG_5072

This image had a red/orange colour cast, due to being inside with tungsten light. I opened this image in light room.

jpeg before

There was no highlight or shadow clipping.

jpeg after

I switched the white balance to custom, in order to make adjustments. I made adjustments to the colour temperature and tint, I also slid the saturation up, to keep the darkness of the leather cases from fading. I then adjusted the contrast and exposure to correct the image.

Final Processed Image:

IMG_5072

RAW:

I then opened the RAW image.

RAW before

I tried to keep the adjustments similar if not the same, to that of the JPEG image.

raw after

Final Processed Image:

IMG_5072-2

IMG_5072IMG_5072IMG_5072-2

After looking at the three images together, I prefer the JPEG image, to the RAW image. After correcting the image, I feel that it is more accurate to the situation at the time. However, I do like the RAW image. The detail is more sharper and more clearer in the RAW image.

2: JPEG

Original Image

I decided to choose this image because you were asked to chose a situation where there was a ‘Grey Surface’

IMG_5160

This image was taken with auto white balance. There is a blue colour cast to this image, but only slightly.

bridge jpeg start

There was a lot of highlight clipping in the cloud areas.

bridge jepg after

When in light room, I kept the white balance the same as when shot. I then decided to see what would happen if I used auto tune. I was surprised with the result, the image came out well. I kept the auto tune.

Final Processed Image:

IMG_5160

RAW:

I then opened the RAW image in light room.

bridge raw start

With the raw image, there was no highlight clipping or shadow clipping.

bridge raw after

I decided to keep the white balance the same in this image, and like the JPEG image, I used the auto tune.

IMG_5160

IMG_5160IMG_5160IMG_5160

After looking at the three images, I prefer the RAW image. After correcting the image, I feel that it is more accurate to the situation at the time.

Leave a Reply

